About the Section

There are many ways that members can become involved and help with the advancement of the Sociology of Development Section of ASA.

Become a Section Member


The section promotes greater interaction, collaboration and mutual support among development sociologists through activities at the ASA Annual Meetings and by activities on the Web during the rest of the year. ASA Sociology of Development Section panels and receptions provide development sociologists the opportunity to present work to peers and engage in networking activities. Prizes may be offered for particularly visionary work.


Chair: Matthew Sanderson, Kansas State University, 2021
Chair-Elect: Fauzia Ahmed, Miami University of Ohio, 2022
Past Chair: : Jennifer Keahey, Arizona State University, 2020
Secretary Treasurer: Jennifer Hsu, University of New South Wales, 2021

Section Council: Margaret Frye, Princeton University, 2021; Joseph Harris, Boston University, 2021; Jordanna Matlon, American University, 2022; Victoria Reyes, University of California, Riverside, 2022; Shiri Noy, Denison University, 2023; Firuzeh Shokooh Valle, Franklin & Marshall College, 2023

Policy Brief Editor: Alaka Basu, Cornell University
Newsletter Editors: Jeb Sprague (Senior Editor), University of California, Riverside, 2021; Leslie MacColman, University of Notre Dame, 2022; Preethi Krishnan, Western Carolina University, 2022

Webmaster: Michaela Curran, University of Iowa, 2021
Student Representative: Lantian Li, Northwestern University, 2021
Mentorship Program Coordinator: Karin Johnson, Texas A&M University

  • Woman with backstrap loom; Lake Atitlán, Guatemala

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s