Call for Nominations: 2021 Sociology of Development Section Awards

The Sociology of Development section of the American Sociological Association invites
nominations for three awards recognizing outstanding scholarship in the area of the sociology of development: Book Award, Faculty Article Award, and Graduate Student Paper Award.

Sociology of Development Section Book Award

All books published in 2019 or 2020 are eligible. A brief letter of nomination (self-nominations are welcome) and a copy of the nominated book should be sent to each of the committee members listed below by March 1, 2021:

Firuzeh Shokooh Valle (co-chair)
fshokooh@fandm.edu
419 S 45th St
Apt. 5
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Joseph Harris (co-chair)
josephh@bu.edu
169 Wachusett St
Boston, MA 02130

Andy Chang
andygiu@gmail.com
Singapore Management University
School of Social Sciences
90 Stamford Road Level 4
Singapore 178903
Attention: Jancy Poon

Sefika Kumral
skumral1@jhu.edu
Department of Sociology
The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
337 Frank Porter Graham Building
PO Box 26170
Greensboro, NC 27402-6170

Yao Li
yaoli.2000@gmail.com
4349 NW 34th Dr
Gainesville, FL 32605

Sociology of Development Section Faculty Article Award

Please send a letter of nomination and an electronic version of the article to each of the committee members listed below by March 1, 2021.  If the article has been published, the copyright date must be 2019 or 2020.  However, unpublished articles are also welcome and self-nominations are encouraged.

Victoria Reyes
UC Riverside (chair)
vreyes@ucr.edu

Amanda Cheong
University of British Columbia
amanda.cheong@ubc.ca

Jennifer Givens
Utah State University
jennifer.givens@usu.edu

Anne Mook
Nazarbayev University
anne.mook@nu.edu.kz

Marina Zaloznaya
University of Iowa
marina-zaloznaya@uiowa.edu

Sociology of Development Section Graduate Student Paper Award

Please send a letter of nomination and an electronic version of the article to each of the committee members listed below by March 1, 2021. If the article has been published, the copyright date must be 2019 or 2020.  However, unpublished articles are also welcome and self-nominations are encouraged.

Shiri Noy (chair)
Denison University
shirinoyphd@gmail.com

Jason Mueller
UC-Irvine
muellej1@uci.edu

Mahirah Mustaffa
University of Massachusetts-Amherst
mmustaffa@umass.edu

Emily Springer
Arizona State University
espringer@asu.edu

Jeffrey Swindle
University of Michigan
jswindle@umich.edu

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s