Call for 2019 Section Awards

The Sociology of Development section of the American Sociological Association invites nominations for three awards recognizing outstanding scholarship in the area of the sociology of development: Book Award, Faculty Article Award, and Graduate Student Paper Award. The Awards section of the website also contains details about each award.

**SOCIOLOGY OF DEVELOPMENT SECTION BOOK AWARD**

All books published in 2017 or 2018 are eligible. A brief letter of nomination (self-nominations are welcome) and a copy of the nominated book should be sent to EACH of the committee members listed below by March 1, 2019. In accordance with ASA policy, all award nominees must be current members of the association in order to be considered.

Chair: Victoria Reyes, UC Riverside <vreyes@ucr.edu>
1334 Watkins Drive
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Committee Member: Erin Beck, University of Oregon <beck@uoregon.edu>
University of Oregon
934 W Broadway
Eugene, OR 97402

Committee Member: Zachary Levenson, UNC Greensboro, <zachary.levenson@uncg.edu>
UNC Greensboro
108 Berkshire St
Greensboro, NC 27403

Committee Member: Craig Van Pelt, Sandhills Community College, <Vanpeltc@sandhills.edu>
Sandhills Community College
Van Dusen Hall 226
3395 Airport Road
Pinehurst, NC 28374

Committee Member: Marilyn Grell-Brisk, UC Riverside < Marilyn.Grell-Brisk@unine.ch>
Institute for Research on World Systems
Olmsted Hall 1218
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

**SOCIOLOGY OF DEVELOPMENT SECTION FACULTY ARTICLE AWARD**

Please send a letter of nomination and an electronic version of the article to EACH of the committee members listed below by March 1, 2019. If the article has been published, the copyright date must be 2017 or 2018. However, unpublished articles are also welcome and self-nominations are encouraged. In accordance with ASA policy, all award nominees must be current members of the association in order to be considered.

Chair: Maggie Frye, University of Michigan, < mtfrye@umich.edu>

Committee Member: Tim Gill, UNC Wilmington, < gillt@uncw.edu>

Committee Member: Steven Samford, University of Michigan, <ssamford@umich.edu>

Committee Member: Alessandra L. González, University of Chicago,
< alg2@uchicago.edu >

Committee Member: Firuzeh Shokooh Valle, Franklin & Marshall College <fshokooh@fandm.edu>

**SOCIOLOGY OF DEVELOPMENT SECTION GRADUATE STUDENT PAPER AWARD**

Please send a letter of nomination and an electronic version of the article to EACH of the committee members listed below by March 1, 2019. If the article has been published, the copyright date must be 2017 or 2018. However, unpublished articles are also welcome and self-nominations are encouraged. The author must be a graduate student who has not received the PhD by March 1, 2019. For co-authored papers, all authors must be graduate students. In accordance with ASA policy, all award nominees must be current members of the association in order to be considered.

Chair: Joseph A. Harris, Boston University <josephh@bu.edu>

Committee Member: Joel Herrera, UCLA <jsherrera@ucla.edu>

Committee Member: Jason Mueller, UC Irvine <muellej1@uci.edu>

Committee Member: Rachel Sullivan Robinson, American University, < robinson@american.edu>

Committee Member: Annabel Ipsen, Colorado State University, <a.ipsen@colostate.edu>

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s